Some mishaps are for our own good

Some mishaps are for our own good, nomatter how overwhelming, just know that the Most High is in control, all that we are going through or what we are about to go through,  He has seen it all and He has already provided for our breakthrough._
#KeepTheFaith mate
#NeverGiveUp fam
An extract from my upcoming second book👇👇👇

…I was woken by the bite of a louse. Previous experience had taught me that a louse does not bite you and crawl away but what one feels as a bite is in fact the sucking of your blood. I decided to wake up slowly, with the intention of squashing the bug right at its drinking hole. Slowly I woke up and supported my body by holding my makeshift pillow – a brick that I had found lying around earlier.
“We just looking for a lighter my friend.” The voice didn’t startle me much, but what surprised me was seeing two people right there in my ‘bedroom’.
“You don’t just come in people’s rooms without knocking.” By that time, I was properly seated and my hand was firmly holding the brick. Somehow this worked to my advantage and saved my life at the same time. The street lights allowed me to properly see my uninvited guests. I became scared when I realised who ‘my visitors’ were. They were none other than the two assailants who earlier had been involved in the assault that I witnessed.
“Sorry man, we are just looking for a lighter.” The one who had spoken earlier repeated, and the way my large hand was caressing the brick left the intruders with no option but to take some steps back. The one behind was not quick enough because the one in front bumped into him. The brick-hand combination had done a great job. “I don’t smoke,” I managed to say with a controlled voice, trying not to sound scared. “Sorry boss, you can go back to sleep.” The speaker said and they left arguing between themselves in a language that I did not understand then.
The relief for me was just too much, I started sweating and shivering at the same time in that chilly weather. The taste of copper filled my mouth. I thanked the louse that had decided to bite me at that moment, in fact, I could have given the louse and its siblings a pint each of my precious blood. Actually, three lice per half a pint is more reasonable, such was my gratitude. I thanked God for all the lice in the world, I even prayed for the safe delivery of all nymphs. I was not guilty at all that I had not prayed when I went to sleep, not ashamed at all that I had been questioning God’s existence…

an extract from Elagweja- That Foreigner, my second upcoming book, a sequel to Cheap Dirty Dog Blanket.
©️PaidaTheScribbler

Published by Paida The Scribbler

My name is Paidamoyo- The love of my heart. I am a self-taught writer, I published my first novel; Cheap Dirty Dog Blanket in 2019. One of my poems was selected into the #Writing My City anthology by the City of Cape Town and Open Book Festival. I love writing; my writings carry an authentic voice for women, teenagers and marginalized people. Currently I am working on my second and third book at the same time.

Leave a comment